Australian Towns & Cities
New South Wales
Incorporating photos and Information from Michael Greenslade's former Australian Towns, Cities and Highways site

Welcome to the New South Wales area of the Australian Towns and Cities section. Please choose a region of New South Wales to explore by choosing from a list of towns and cities from further down the page.

New South Wales is bordered by Queensland to the north, Victoria to the south, and South Australia to the west. Its coast borders the Tasman Sea to the east. The Australian Capital Territory is an enclave within the state. New South Wales' state capital is Sydney, which is also Australia's most populous city. New South Wales is Australia's most populous state. New South Wales was founded as a penal colony in 1788.

Photos: (Left) New South Wales border sign on the Princes Highway at Timbilica (Image © Jamie Scuglia), (Right) Sydney Harbour Bridge (Image © 2016 Paul Rands)

Capital City: Sydney

Regional Towns & Cities :

1 Australian Bureau of Statistics, Australian Demographic Statistics, Jun 2018

Last updated: 27-Oct-2021 13:30

This site © Paul Rands. All rights reserved. Some portions © (copyright) by their respective and credited owners. Permission must be obtained before using any images from this site. For details, please email by clicking here.