Australian Towns & Cities
South Australia

Incorporating photos and Information from Michael Greenslade's former Australian Towns, Cities and Highways site

Welcome to the South Australia area of the Australian Towns and Cities section. Please choose a region of South Australia to explore by choosing from a list of towns and cities from further down the page.

South Australia is a state in southern central Australia. It covers some of the most arid parts of the country. It is the fourth-largest of Australia's states and territories by area, and fifth largest by population.

South Australia shares borders with the Northern Territory to the north, Western Australia to the west, Queensland to the northeast, by New South Wales to the east, and with Victoria in the southeast. The state's colonial origins are unique in Australia as a freely settled, planned British province, rather than as a convict settlement. Colonial government commenced on 28 December 1836.

Photos: (Top) Border crossing at Cockburn (Image © Michael Greenslade), (Centre) Vineyards in the McLaren Valley (Image © 2009 Michael Greenslade) and (Bottom) King William Rd looking towards Adelaide CBD (Image © 2007 Michael Greenslade)

Capital City: Adelaide

Regional Towns & Cities :

1 Australian Bureau of Statistics, Australian Demographic Statistics, Jun 2018

Last updated: 24-Dec-2020 0:33

This site © Paul Rands. All rights reserved. Some portions © (copyright) by their respective and credited owners. Permission must be obtained before using any images from this site. For details, please email by clicking here.