Australian Towns & Cities
Australian Capital Territory
Incorporating photos and Information from Michael Greenslade's former Australian Towns, Cities and Highways site

The Australian Capital Territory is home to the nation's capital, Canberra.

Canberra is Australia's capital city and resides in as the only major town or city inside the Australian Capital Territory. Canberra is Australia's youngest city, being proclaimed once the ACT was formed in 1912.

The design for the city was won in an international competition by an American architect, Walter Burley Griffin. Growth was slow in the ACT from the start til the 1950's when the Federal Government injected huge amounts of money into Canberra to make it a recognised capital city with the construction of many of Canberra's national buildings, and the damming of Molonglo River to become Lake Burley Griffin. The Government departments that were in Melbourne and Sydney were shifted to Canberra, reluctantly - however, this along with the new Parliament House in 1988 completed Burley Griffin's city plan.

Today Canberra and its residents are in perhaps the only fully planned city and the highest standard of living. The amenities and facilities that are offered by Canberra are exceptional and far beyond those offered by any other city of similar size in the world. The city's road infrastructure is superb making it the easiest city to traverse by car, and Canberra is set amongst many standout mountains meaning a view of any part of the city is not hard to reach. Canberra offers many attractions to tourists - The Telstra Tower on Black Mountain captures the eye immediately, along with the list of national buildings. These include the Australian War Memorial, National Gallery, Old and new Parliament House, High Court, National Library, Questacon, National Museum and the Carillion. To the west of the city within the ACT is Tidbinbilla's Tracking Station - similar to the radio dish installed at Parkes. Shopping can realistically only be found in the major shopping centres (Tuggeranong, Woden, Belconnen, Gungahlin, Majura Park or the City centre) which is good in terms of successful land zoning, however this sadly gives Canberra little character that the rest of Australia's towns and cities have achieved.

Photos: (Top) Anzac Parade and Parliament House from Mt Ainslie (2003), (Centre) View over Civic from Mt Ainslie (2003) and (Bottom) Lake Burley Griffin, Tuggeranong Parkway & Woden, from Telstra Tower (2000) Images © Michael Greenslade

Capital City: Canberra

Town Centres and Suburbs:

Belconnen Gungahlin Molonglo North Canberra
  • Aranda
  • Belconnen Town Centre
  • Bruce
  • Charnwood
  • Cook
  • Dunlop
  • Evatt
  • Florey
  • Flynn
  • Fraser
  • Giralang
  • Hawker
  • Higgins
  • Holt - Kippax Centre
  • Kaleen
  • Latham
  • Lawson
  • Macgregor
  • Macquarie - Jamison Centre
  • McKellar
  • Melba
  • Page
  • Scullin
  • Spence
  • Strathnairn
  • Weetangera
  • Amaroo
  • Bonner
  • Casey
  • Crace
  • Forde
  • Franklin
  • Gungahlin Town Centre
  • Harrison
  • Jacka
  • Kenny
  • Kinlyside
  • Mitchell
  • Moncrieff
  • Ngunnawal
  • Nicholls
  • Palmerston
  • Taylor
  • Throsby
  • Denman Prospect
  • Coombs
  • Molonglo
  • Sulman
  • Whitlam
  • Wright
  • Acton
  • Ainslie
  • Braddon
  • Campbell - Duntroon
  • City (also referred to as Civic)
  • Dickson - Dickson Centre
  • Downer
  • Hackett
  • Lyneham - North Lyneham
  • O'Connor
  • Pialligo
  • Reid
  • Russell
  • Turner
  • Watson
South Canberra Tuggeranong Weston Creek Woden
  • Barton
  • Beard
  • Capital Hill
  • Deakin
  • Forrest
  • Fyshwick
  • Griffith - Manuka
  • Harman
  • Hume
  • Kingston - The Causeway
  • Narrabundah
  • Oaks Estate
  • Parkes
  • Red Hill
  • Symonston
  • Yarralumla
  • Banks
  • Bonython
  • Calwell
  • Chisholm
  • Conder
  • Fadden
  • Gilmore
  • Gordon
  • Gowrie
  • Greenway - Tuggeranong Town Centre
  • Isabella Plains
  • Kambah - Kambah Village Centre
  • Macarthur
  • Monash
  • Oxley
  • Richardson
  • Uriarra
  • Tharwa
  • Theodore
  • Wanniassa - Erindale Centre
  • Williamsdale
  • Chapman
  • Duffy
  • Fisher
  • Holder
  • Rivett
  • Stirling
  • Waramanga
  • Weston - Weston Creek Centre
  • Chifley
  • Curtin - Curtin Centre
  • Farrer
  • Garran
  • Hughes
  • Isaacs
  • Lyons
  • Mawson - Southlands Centre
  • O'Malley
  • Pearce
  • Phillip - Woden Town Centre
  • Swinger Hill
  • Torrens

1 Australian Bureau of Statistics, Australian Demographic Statistics, Jun 2018

Last updated: 31-Jul-2020 11:35

This site © Paul Rands. All rights reserved. Some portions © (copyright) by their respective and credited owners. Permission must be obtained before using any images from this site. For details, please email by clicking here.