Australian Towns & Cities
Tasmania: Hobart Eastern Suburbs
Incorporating photos and Information from Michael Greenslade's former Australian Towns, Cities and Highways site

Hobart is the state capital of Tasmania and was founded in 1804 as a penal colony. Hobart has also been known as Hobart Town and Hobarton and was named after Lord Hobart, the British secretary of state for war and the colonies. The first European settlement began in 1803. The city, initially known as Hobart Town or Hobarton, The area's indigenous inhabitants were members of the semi-nomadic Mouheneener people. The city is the southernmost capital city in Australia and the least populated state capital.

Featuring the second deepest natural port in the world annd shipping is a significant contributor to the city's economy. Hobart is the home port for the Antarctic activities of Australia and France. Manufacturing and also tourism are other big parts of the economy. The River Derwent and Mount Wellington / kunanyi are dominating natural features of the city and visitors that come to the city are usually there to explore its historic inner suburbs and nationally acclaimed restaurants and cafes, as well as its vibrant music and nightlife culture. The two major draw-cards are the weekly market in Salamanca Place, and the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA). Hobart also offers a thriving wine industry.


Preview: Description:
Tasman Bridge:
Nigh view of the Tasman Bridge and River Derwent from Rosny Hill Lookout, July 2018.

Image © Paul Rands

Nigh view of Hobart CBD from Rosny Hill Lookout, July 2018.

Image © Paul Rands

1 Australian Bureau of Statistics, 2016 Census QuickStats

Last updated: 02-Aug-2020 11:56

This site © Paul Rands. All rights reserved. Some portions © (copyright) by their respective and credited owners. Permission must be obtained before using any images from this site. For details, please email by clicking here.