Brisbane Metroad System Information Sign, Bruce Hwy at Burpengary, October 2004. Image © Michael Greenslade

Brisbane is one of two Australian cities to have a Metroad route marking system (the other is Sydney). Introduced to Brisbane in 1995, the initial system consisted of routes 1-5 but a sixth was added following the opening of the Gateway Motorway extension (Southern Brisbane Bypass) in 1998.

The Metroads form the priority routes into and through the metropolitan area. However with the implementation of alphanumeric routes in 2000 some Metroads have been replaced with alphanumeric designations.

Below are the various routes this site has photos of. The routes are sorted by their route number

Route Number: Description: Preview:
mr2.png Metroad 1 (Beenleigh to Bald Hills):
Pacific Highway, Pacific Motorway & Gateway Motorway
mr2.png Metroad 2 (Dinmore To Gailes):
Ipswich Motorway
mr2.png Metroad 3 (Bald Hills To Eight Mile Plains):
Pacific Motorway, Coronation Drive, Hale Street, Inner City Bypass, Bowen Bridge Road, Lutwyche Road, Gympie Road & Gympie Arterial Road
mr2.png Metroad 4 (Gailes To Rochedale):
Logan Motorway & Gateway Motorway
Metroad 5 (Toowong to Forest Lake):
Western Freeway & Centenary Highway
Metroad 6 (Loganholme to Drewvale):
Logan Motorway

1 Michael Greenslade
2 Trent Thomson

Last updated: 05-Jan-2019 16:52

This site © Paul Rands. All rights reserved. Some portions © (copyright) by their respective and credited owners. Permission must be obtained before using any images from this site. For details, please email by clicking here.